Last Thursdayism

Last Thursdayism (alternately Last Tuesdayism or Last Wednesdayism) is the idea that the universe was created last Thursday, but with the physical appearance of being billions of years old. Under Last Thursdayism, books, fossils, light already on the way from distant stars, and literally everything (including your memories of the time before last Thursday) were all formed at the time of creation (last Thursday) in a state such that they appear much older. -Source: Last Thursdayism

I first heard of this creationist theory whilst watching a conspiracy theory Youtube video, of all things, and felt the need to share with you guys about it (plus, I completely had no desire to come up with my own ideas for this week’s post, so tah-dah! internet help.) This is one of those theories that I don’t really agree with at all (on a logical level because spiritually I am like, “yeah I could dig it!”), but wish to explore due to the interesting nature of what it could possibly mean about human existence and what we view as “reality.”

Attached below is a website of the church of Last Thursdayism which I found on the very first page of google (so you can tell my research was legitimate). The beliefs of this church include ideas that this version of the universe was created by you as a test, but consciously you are unaware of this test. Everyone you meet and interact with is a part of this test and is in on this grand experiment, specifically everyone else is “pre-programmed” so you are the only one with free will.

On a side note: I have definitely believed everyone was a robot/without free will since third grade, so I feel like I am definitely on to something then…

Here are my problems with this theory of a universe being created on Thursday:

  1. That’s just kind of fucked up (if you ask me) because to think that every hardship, emotion, and experience I have gone through is just an idea placed in my head rather than a reality would make me go absolutely insane! Same with knowing that all my interactions with people are unreal because they are programmed that way… no thank you to that. I am very psychologically fragile as it is!
  2. I have been thinking about this theory for two or three weeks meaning it has definitely been longer since Thursday that I have been consciously aware.
  3. Why does the Church of Last Thursdayism care whether or not you are left handed…?
  4. Why do my implanted memories involve watching reality shows on MTV and laying in bed distraught? Why can’t this false life of mine involve having a 80-year-old sugar daddy who dies suddenly (of natural causes? I mean, maybe?) and leaves me everything? Then I wake up on Thursday to the reality of being a scandalous (yet classy) lady who is being blamed for the murder of her previously stated sugar daddy?  Seems like the universe has done me wrong once again.

If you have any thoughts to share on the idea of Last Thursdayism, then leave me a comment! Until next time, pre-programmed bots!


All images in this post credited to The Church of Last Thursdayism’s website.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. chriscrucial says:

    you have discovered the truth.

    self-destruction sequence activated.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tangentrines says:

    Somewhere out there, a group of left-handed individuals are starting their own church and showing anger towards the right-handed humans of the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deirdra says:

      They may be of the left-handed variety, but they are mighty!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

